What another eventful week it’s been! Monday started off with a few more self-esteem workshops for 61 girls at the Kuna Boys and Girls Club. That brings it up to 800 girls that I’ve given workshops to now! Always look forward to hearing them say the things they like most about themselves, but that day’s workshops were full of surprises! One girl even said that her favorite thing about her was…steak! More power to her though for loving her meats!
Thursday, I prepared for a road trip adventure to Weiser, Idaho with my dad. We stopped at a gas station on our way there where I was reunited with my favorite childhood treat, Pop Rocks! The remainder of the car drive was spent with my mouth opened wide to see how loud I could make the sugared rocks pop in my mouth until we got to the small, but entertaining, Weiser. My pageant sisters, and good friends, Carly Campo and Jessica Richardson were giving up their titles at Miss Western Idaho where they passed them along to two talented and sweet girls. One of the more entertaining parts of the night though was the hilarious emcee! This man dressed in a suit, slightly balding at the top and rounding in the middle like a pleasant Santa stood up and entertained us all as he slid on his reading glasses to read the winners of the night. But his reading glasses weren’t what you would expect to see, rather what you’d anticipate a hip grandma to wear. They were pointy blue rimmed with rhinestones! Guess it isn’t just us pageant girls who love our rhinestones!
My birthday was brought in while we were driving back to Boise, as we celebrated my 21st birthday at a truck stop getting cliff bars and peach rings. We’re a wild bunch! That night though my family and friends celebrated with me at a local restaurant called the Reef which is kind of like a Hawaiian bbq and is absolutely amazing. That next night, the best friends EVER planned a party for me at my friend Ashley’s where they had decorated the room with yellow and orange, my favorite colors, streamers, balloons, and Ash had even made one of her famous cakes for me that was decorated with zebra print and looked like it should have come out of a professional cake magazine!
Now I sit in the Denver Airport, ending the third hour of my layover as I eagerly wait to fly into Chicago. The city love of my life and I cannot wait to see what lies ahead this week. Tomorrow we go to a Cubs game as they play against the Houston Asteroids!

Leave a Reply

