Crowning up to ‘Fill the Boot’!

Saturday morning was an early wake up call to the alarm clock going off at 6:30 am. I woke up and headed to Gold’s Gym knowing I had a busy day ahead of me and it was the only time I would be able to get my work out in.

After an invigorating work out, I crowned up (as my dad now calls it whenever I get ready for an appearance) and headed out to help the Boise Firefighters Local 149 with their annual Fill The Boot Campaign.

Fill the Boot is a campaign held each year to raise money and awareness for Muscular Dystrophy. Since 1954, the International Firefighters Association have raised $454,000,000 and is the largest group to raise money for the MDA. The money raised goes towards sending children to camp each summer as well as buying equipment. I was excited to be part of such a great cause and to also see a good friend and former judge from Miss Idaho, Lance Sellers.

Typically, during Fill the Boot, the firefighters will stand in the streets of busy intersections holding up a boot and cars will slow down to put money in the boot. I wasn’t sure if they would allow me to be out in the streets so I was excited when I found out I got to be out in the street holding one of the boots. So out I went in my crisp white sundress (and yes it stayed white the remainder of the day!) and wedges on a mission to help raise as much money as we could for MDA.

I had a blast as I would run up to cars and have women, men, even little kids roll down their windows and to see their surprised faces when they saw Miss Idaho out holding the boot. I even saw some familiar faces from previous appearances and it was enjoyable to see a little girl with the sweetest smile say that she remembered me from a couple weeks before.

After standing out on the hot pavement for a couple hours it was time to head out to Meridian to help with the Gold’s Sports, Fitness, and Art Festival. This was the first year it was held and it was great to be part of the hopefully new tradition to be part of the Meridian Community. Not only was I able to learn more about the benefits of being a member of Gold’s Gym, but also the positive impact that they have the healthy lifestyles of the Treasure Valley.

It was a hot and muggy afternoon but the trainers still had smiles on their faces and determined to make a difference in Meridian’s health and fitness.

After a couple of hours I headed back for the night to get ready to enjoy the Idaho Shakespeare Festival’s rendition of Taming of the Shrew. It was an 80’s themed play and absolutely hilarious as they brought back the fanny pack, bright patterns, and leg warmers mixed with Shakespeare.

The next day, I spent my morning at Sumit’s Hot Yoga Studio getting a little relaxation in and a workout that is still making me sore as I write this! I then spent the rest of the afternoon eagerly packing for my trip to Orlando the next day. It was incredibly hard to focus with the eagerness taking over my body. I kept thinking about all the incredible things I was going to do this week and all the new friends I’ll be making. That night I didn’t get much sleep, I felt like a little kid the night before Christmas eagerly waiting for the next morning.

As for now, I’m waiting eagerly on my flight from Denver to Orlando, and I don’t think time can go any slower! I’ll be posting more updates about my Orlando adventures this week, because believe me there will be many! Disneyworld, Miss America Outstanding Teen, People’s Choice Video, and so many more. Can hardly wait!

Goals for this week

1. Last time I was in Orlando, I got on the wrong bus system and completely miss my stop! I will learn how to use the transportation system this week, and will also remember what color my luggage is! Last time I forgot if it was black or navy, I think I’ve found a solution to this one by tying bright scarves on it that even say “World Peace” on it!

2. Go on every upside down ride and rollercoaster in DisneyWorld with no hands holding on, so excited!

3. Find my dream dress at Regalia’s this week. I’ll be on the search for my evening gown for Miss America!

4. (Had to throw a 4th one in this week!) Take as many crazy face pictures as possible with Miss Nebraska Kayla Batt and Miss Washington Brittney Henry! Can’t hardly wait for the fun filled week ahead.

Much love and hugs,

Genevieve

Leave a Reply

