Your mind will give up before your body does.

Your mind will give up before your body does. That’s what I kept telling myself as I ran up the steep incline that continued for nearly 2 miles up Highland. My goal was to run the entire way up the hill, but the further I got the more unlikely it seemed I was going to actually make it there without stopping. That’s when I started to ignore the fact that my lungs felt on fire due to the poor air quality from all the forest fires surrounding Boise. I ignored the messages my mind was sending to my body, telling my burning quads and aching calves that they should probably just take a break and walk a bit. Instead, I turned up the tunes, blocking out my thoughts, and focused on how rejuvenating it was going to feel once I made it to the top. My body kept going, and just when the pain in my calves felt as if it was too much to handle, I saw the sign “Dead End”. I was so overjoyed I could have ran over and given that sign a huge hug, if it weren’t for the fact that the neighbors might call dispatch wondering what in the world this sweaty girl  hugging their “Dead End” sign was doing.
My run back was refreshing, I felt weightless with each step I took. The thing I absolutely love about Boise, especially in the North End, is that everyone is physically active and friendly. You see everything from extreme cyclists, mom’s running with strollers, horseback riders, long boarders, walkers/runners with their dogs, and each of these people pass you with a smile and friendly wave. The other nice thing about Sunday morning runs, every few houses you pass gives off a delicious breakfast aroma. Waffles and bacon seemed to be the popular choices today which just gave me more incentive to make it home so I could enjoy my own breakfast.
Which is exactly what I did after my 6 mile run. I’m a huge breakfast person, if I could have breakfast for every meal I would be a happy camper. My favorite breakfast of choice is a fruit protein smoothie and toast or egg whites, siracha, and honey oat bagel thins with peanut butter, strawberries, and bananas on top.  Today I had to make a quick breakfast since Luke and I had to take off for our drive to Shannon and Jeff’s wedding in McCall. Yay for road trips! So I made one of my favorite protein smoothies, the “Lean, Green, Protein Machine”!
LEAN, GREEN, PROTEIN MACHINE
1 cup frozen blueberries- Blueberries are rich in antioxidants which help in boosting your immune system, can lead to lower fat mass, and can be a great anti-depressant.
1/4-1/2 cup water or soy milk (depending on how thick you prefer your smoothies, the thicker the better for me!)
1 scoop protein powder- I prefer Gold Standard Natural 100% Whey Protein. It mixes easily and has an abundance of flavors. At 120 calories, 5g carbs, 24 g protein, and 3g sugar it refuels my body and is the perfect addition to my smoothies. My favorite flavors are strawberry, banana, milk chocolate, and vanilla. Today I chose strawberry, yum!
1 tsp unrefined virgin coconut oil- Coconut oil helps digestion, stimulates metabolism, and increases energy levels which helps get rid of excess body fat and toned muscles.
1 tsp fitness fiber- Fiber can help to fill you up and curb cravings, steadies your blood sugar levels, decreases the body’s absorption of fat, helps in regularity, and can lower cholesterol.
1 cup spinach- Low in calories and rich in vitamins and minerals, this green food helps keep your brain young and healthy, prevents eye diseases, and is an excellent source of iron. Because it can be high in pesticides, this is a vegetable that you should consider purchasing organic.
1 tsp agave nectar- This is a great sweetener to use instead of sugar because of its low glycemic value.  The lower the glycemic value, the less of an impact it will have on your blood sugar and you won’t have the rise and falls that sugar leads to. For example, organic agave nectar has a glycemic value of 27 while sucrose (sugar) has a value of 92. Even honey, another natural sweetener, has a high glycemic level at 83.
1/2  cup sliced frozen strawberries- Strawberries are also rich in antioxidants and help fight against cancer,  lead to healthy eyes, fight against cardiovascular disease, and help maintain proper bone structure.
1/2  6 in banana- Bananas are another mood enhancer and are good for your blood, kidneys, bones, heart, and nerves.
All together, the LPG Machine is a little over 350 calories with 27 g protein and will keep me full for a good couple of hours until my mid morning snack.
I’d packed my bags the evening before so I was ready to hit the road and prepare to celebrate Shannon and Jeff’s wedding in beautiful McCall, Idaho!  We lucked out when we heard that they had reopened Highway 55 after it had been closed off due to the intense fire conditions the area had been experiencing.
Here’s to an entertaining drive and a festive afternoon of celebrating!
Much love and hugs!
Genevieve
Leave a Reply

