Who’s pumped up for pumpkin spice scones? Just call me Miss Pumpkin Fanatic!

After my Pumpkin Spice Protein Energy Bites and my numerous attempts at the perfect pumpkin protein shake, you’d think I’d be pumpkined out by now, right? I thought I would be too but I was wrong. I had seen a recipe for whole wheat pumpkin cranberry scones and my mouth watered after reading the ingredients and seeing pictures of them. I decided to take a break in between my two research papers and interviews I’ve had this week for a little scone cooking session.

I’ve never made scones, and I’ve always thought you should avoid them at all cost because they can be incredibly high in fat and sugar. But this recipe doesn’t have all the fat and sugar many other scone recipes may have. I used a recipe from Happy Herbivore’s blog for pumpkin cranberry scones and added a couple other ingredients.

Whole Wheat Pumpkin Cranberry Scones

Ingredients:
1.5 c whole wheat pastry flour
1 tbsp baking powder
pinch of salt
3.5 tbsp maple syrup (I used reduced sugar, it probably would have been a little sweeter had I used regular maple syrup though)
1/2 c pumpkin pure
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp cinnamon
2 tbsp almond milk
1/2 cup cranberries (I couldn’t find any fresh, so I took dried cranberries and added them to warm water to plump them. Then patted them dry before adding them to the mix, this will rehydrate them.)
1/4 c pumpkin seeds (leave a few out for decoration on top of the scone if you’d like something a little fancy shmancy!)
You can also try adding white chocolate or chocolate chunks if you want to make them a little sweeter.

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a cookie sheet or use parchment paper.
2. Combine flour, baking powder, salt and pumpkin spice and whisk together to make sure all ingredients are evenly distributed. We don’t want any funky lumps!
3. Add wet ingredients:  pumpkin, maple syrup, cranberries, and pumpkin seeds. Incorporate all ingredients together. This being my first scone recipe, I didn’t realize scones make a very dry dough. Keep this in mind but if you feel it is too dry than you can add a little bit of almond milk if there is still excess flour not being picked up by the mix.
4. Roll dough into one large ball and flatten slightly with the palm of your hand. Roughly 1-1.5 inches thick.  Cut the dough like a pizza until you have 6 slices.

I also sprinkled cinnamon and sugar over the top of the scones to sweeten and make them glisten. Then I placed the extra pumpkin seeds for decor. You can also glaze them with a powder sugar and almond milk mix if you want to add more sweetness to it.

5. Bake for 13 to 15 minutes, or until firm to the touch.

Voila! My first scones, and what a success they were! The roomies and ladies at work loved them and mom said they were delicious! I take that as a huge compliment because my mom is the absolute best cook in the world, hands down!

The nice thing about these scones is that they are small enough to not make you feel “guilty” for eating a whole one and they leave you feeling satisfied without feeling stuffed with scones. Hope you enjoy them!

Random Fact of the Day:

Did you know, the word “scone” came from a stone called the Stone of Destiny that Scottish Kings sat upon once they were crowned? That being said, I feel as if scones are a much more classy and regal. Scones were also introduced as an afternoon snack with tea when Anna Duchess of Bedford decided 8 hours was far too long for a woman to wait between meals before having anything else to eat. Therefore, afternoon tea was discovered and along with that came scones with tea! All hail Anna, I don’t know if I could wait 8 hours between lunch and dinner, and this scone definitely held me over with a nice cup of green tea!

Leave a Reply

