Are your foods….fit? My Fit Foods are!

Yesterday morning I decided to start my day off with some much needed hot yoga. With my increase in miles that I’ve been running and inundation with research paper galore, I have missed yoga the past week and a half and desperately needed a nice cleanse. And am I ever glad I decided to go yesterday! But more about that later 🙂

If you’ve ever heard me talk about hot yoga or read any of my posts, you know I’m a die hard hot yogi and it’s very rare for me to go more than a couple days without it. It’s an excellent workout, great way to relieve stress and relax, and also helps to not only cleanse the body but can help you perform better in other sports and activity.

When my sweaty achy body made it’s way home (I forgot how much that class kicks my booty!) I decided to do up an egg white scramble with a side of grapefruit.

Yummm, it absolutely hit the spot! For a mid-morning snack I had 1/2 cup of cottage cheese and a delicious fuji apple before heading to class and running errands.

Back to why I was so happy that I decided to make it to my yoga class yesterday morning. Next to me, a MyFit Foods just opened. A woman in my class recommended it to me and kept talking about how I need to try it and would absolutely love it. Ironically, there were little vouchers next to the sign up sheet for a free meal today! I couldn’t wait to give it a try and was even more excited about not having to make lunch for the day.

The way it works is you can either come into the store and pick out what you would like to eat (kind of like a grocer store but the meals are already freshly cooked and ready to be reheated) or you can order meals for the next few days and come into the store to pick them up so you don’t have to do any cooking or cleaning. They have a variety of breakfasts, lunches, dinners, salads, and snacks that come in small, medium, and some even come in a larger size. I loved this aspect because it help with portion control and you also aren’t paying extra money for something you can’t finish eating! The meals are rich in lean protein, low glycemic carbohydrates, and antioxidant rich veggies.

It was a tough decision to choose just one, they all made my stomach rumble with eagerness to devour them. I decided on Chargrilled Crazy Chicken which had 5 oz of sliced chicken breast, fresh green beans, and their homemade cinnamon walnut sweet potatoes (that was the part that sold me!) I ordered the medium size because I was pretty hungry and the small looked like it wasn’t quite big enough to fill me up. There is more in there than you think though, and I probably should have stuck with the small because I couldn’t even finish the medium.

The woman who helped me was super friendly and helpful with informing me about the process and foods. She also told me about their “My Fit Cocktail” which she assured me had no alcohol in it but would definitely bring my taste buds to life! You could either order it as a drink or a shooter and it consisted of cranberry juice, apple cider vinegar, lemon, and….B-12! I will have to give that a try next time.

Lunch was super easy as I went home, popped my dinner in the microwave, and put my groceries away while my lunch was warming up. I loved that there were instructions on the container, it was an easy cleanup, and I didn’t have to worry about all the processed food and added sodium that you get from eating prepackaged frozen meals. The meal itself was pretty good for a prepackaged meal, it definitely tasted fresher than a frozen entrée though not quite the same as a freshly made meal from scratch. But if you are short for time and need something on the go, I would highly suggest going this route because it’s cheap, healthy, and you can control how much you eat! Next time I think I’m going to try their “Gimme More Chicken Wrap”, “Good Morning Sunshine”, or their “Oat Bake” (that looked to die for!)

Random Fact of the Day:

Did you know it’s okay to eat more than 3 meals a day? It’s actually good for you! Eating more doesn’t necessarily mean you’ll weight more. But by eating small portions every 3 hours throughout the day, your metabolism increases and you’ll have a higher level of sustainable energy. Check out My Fit Foods for more information on how to make eating healthy a habit and ask about their 21 day challenge to incorporate healthy eating habits!

Leave a Reply

