I like to eat, eat, eat, apples and bananas!

I am happy to say that I finished my 15 page research paper in less than 12 hours! Say what? That is officially a new record for me and I was quite thrilled, to say the least, that what should have been a very hectic Tuesday ended up being much more relaxed than anticipated. I also was excited that I had enough time to actually sit down and enjoy my breakfast this morning and even write up a quick little post for today. Winston decided she was feeling a little left out of the hustle and bustle of the day and wanted to provide a little help/distraction in my post.

I must have been feeling quite ambitious after finishing my paper over 24 hours earlier than anticipated. So ambitious that I jumped out of bed when I looked at my watch and thought my alarm hadn’t gone off and I was an hour behind schedule. As it ends up, my Garmin Watch isn’t as smart as I thought it was, though I do give it a lot of credit! I didn’t realize I had to set it back an hour so I ended up waking up at 5:30 this morning. I took the time to get some homework done and head to the gym for an arms, abs, and cardio workout. Today’s workout didn’t involve the “Triple M’s”, but you’ll be happy to hear that I survived my workout yesterday and woke up with some incredibly sore legs today.

After my workout I made a  new protein pancake recipe. I had a couple bananas that were beginning to freckle worse than my freckle mustache gets in the summer (that’s what my sister calls my freckles during the summer because it can get bad. But I love them anyways!). I decided to cut one up and freeze it to use for smoothies and mashed the other one for pancakes. After having some amazing protein pancakes out of a box, I’ve been working at trying to make the perfect protein pancake from scratch since it feels like cheating to eat them out of the box all the time. But I have been struggling to get them to be the right consistency and actually taste edible as well. It wasn’t until I came across an article talking about the core ingredients necessary to make an edible, somewhat fluffy with a good constancy, protein pancake.

Here are the tips that I have learned about how to make…..

The Perfect Protein Pancake!

1. Don’t fear the cottage cheese! I have seen several recipes that call for cottage cheese and I’ll admit, it freaks me out. Cottage cheese, in pancakes? But you can’t knock it until you try it. Cottage cheese works as a moisturizer, something that is one of the key factors that play into the right consistency in a pancake. Other ingredients that add moisture are apple sauce (also a good natural sweetener), greek yogurt, puree, cooked sweet potato, bananas, apples, berries, and almond/soy milk.

2. When cooking with protein powder, make sure that no more than 1/4 of your batter consists of protein powder otherwise your batter may end up cakey, rubbery, dry, and most likely very unappetizing.

3. Flour child! In addition to cooking with whey, you also need some sort of flour involved. I like to use oat flour or whole wheat flour. This helps to create the fluff in your pancakes and also mixes the ingredients together.

4. Use FRESH baking powder (I buy mine in bulk so I make sure not to buy too much at once so I’m always using fresh baking powder. Otherwise make sure to be aware of expiration dates.) If the baking powder isn’t fresh, you are going to have some sad looking flat, heavy pancakes.

5. In addition to a moisturizer, eggs help to hold ingredients together and keep the pancake from falling apart. This also adds additional protein to the final recipe.

6. Don’t be afraid to get a little crazy and experiment with new ingredients. I like to add different seeds, grains, fruits, and spices to “spice” (wink wink!) things up a bit.

Today’s protein pancake was inspired by my freckled banana and the abundance of apples that I found in my fridge.

Apple Banana Protein Pancakes

1 small (preferably “freckled”) banana

1 apple- I used braeburn for this particular recipe because of the abundance of flavor.

3 egg whites

1 scoop protein powder- I used vanilla. But flavored proteins can add variety.

1 cup oat flour

1 tbsp baking powder

1 tbsp cinnamon

1 pinch of salt

1 tbsp Truvia (a natural sweetener) or agave

3/4 cup or 1 cup almond milk (or soy milk) depending on what the consistency of your pancakes looks like.

In a medium bowl, mix together protein powder, oat flour, baking powder, cinnamon, salt and Truvia (or whatever sweetener you are using if it is a dry ingredient.)

In a separate larger bowl, mash your banana with the apple that you have lightly blended (I like it to look like apple sauce but a little chunky so it adds texture) as well as the egg whites and sweetener if it isn’t a dry ingredient. Add half of your milk and slowly start to add in the dry ingredients that you previously mixed together. Continue to add your dry ingredients and portions of your milk until the dry ingredients are mixed well and you have a mixture that is thick but yet will pour easily. 

Pour batter on a sprayed pan placed over medium heat and allow pancakes to cook for a couple of minutes on each side depending on your stove and pan). Flip and repeat.

Serve with fresh fruit on top, peanut butter, a light syrup, or simpy enjoy by themselves!

The cherry on top of my day was being able to take my sister to her very first opportunity to vote for our nation’s president on Election Day. I was so proud of her for voicing her opinion, though many people asked me if she voted for Luke Skywalker or Darth Vader because of her shirt!

I hope you all had a wonderful Election Day and here is to a strong country built off of support and compromise through optimism, encouragement, and sacrifices by doing our own part to make our nation one that is strong and united.

Happy Election Day everybody!

 Random Fact

Did you know only one candidate has lost both the electoral and popular vote but still ended up winning the presidential election? This was the 6th President John Quincy Adams in 1824. Did you also know that President Adams went for a nude swim every morning? Of all the things to be remembered for, that was the one the be passed down a couple hundred years later!

Leave a Reply

