It’s a Treasure Hunt Scramble

I was lacking in the motivation department when my alarm went off this morning. After staying up late to watch President Barack Obama be reelected as President, waking up and making it to the gym this morning seemed near impossible. It didn’t help that my legs were even more sore than the day before. Note to self, whatever it was that I did for legs on Monday, definitely need to do it again! The pain, eh, not so enjoyable. However, the feeling of satisfaction in knowing that I accomplished a strenuous workout makes that pain feel like a sense of accomplishment in a bizarre way.

 I will definitely be taking a double dose of my SciVation Xtend  which helps to enhance ATP production and BCAA to help with muscle protein synthesis and aids in muscle recovery. I prefer the blue raspberry or grape flavor and will put a scoop in my water before working out as well as an extra scoop later in the day if I’ve had a strenuous workout. When I was training, I would have about 3 scoops everyday because I was working out at a high intensity level often twice a day.

Lately, I’ve also been adding cucumbers to my water. I used to do this over the summer because it was incredibly refreshing and a nice shift from plain water. I’m a water-a-holic and carry my Nalgene around with me, everywhere. Now I don’t know why I stopped because it has many health benefits and is very good for you.

Benefits of Cucumbers in Your Water

1. Like I said earlier, it’s incredibly refreshing and changes things up if you are like me and drink water constantly throughout the day. (Which you should, water is so good for you!)

2. It’s a good way to add a little flavor to your water without adding calories. (One glass may be 5 calories, if that. You’ve probably burned that in the amount of time it took you to read this!)

3. Cucumbers supply many vitamins including vitamin A, vitamin C, vitamin K, iron, potassium, calcium, beta-carotene, manganese, and antioxidants.

4. As you probably know, water is very good for your skin and some say that the nutrients in cucumbers can also help to improve skin tone.

5. Cucumbers are one of the most cultivated vegetables in the world. This being said, they are one of the relatively inexpensive vegetables you will find at your grocery store.

You can also try other fruits and vegetables in your water to change the flavor like grapefruit, lemons, berries, teas, or be creative and see what else you like. Let me know if you try something new and absolutely love it!

After I finally got myself motivated to get to the gym and work my shoulders and do a little cardio, it was time for some serious treasure hunting for food in the refrigerator. That’s what I feel like when my refrigerator is starting to look bare. I don’t like to go on huge grocery shopping trips because I buy a lot of fresh produce and don’t like to see it waste. Because of this, I feel like I am constantly going to the grocery store, but at least my produce is always fresh! I had some eggs and vegetables to make an egg white scramble and also noticed some Fage Total 0% Greek Yogurt that was reaching it’s expiration date. Well, I didn’t want that to go to waste so I decided to get a little crazy and add it into my scramble that morning. What’s the worst that could happen?

It’s a Treasure Hunt Scramble

4 egg whites, 1 egg yolk

1 handful of spinach, ripped into small pieces

2 tbsp Fage Total 0% Greek Yogurt- I prefer this kind because it is low in calories, has the least sugar (9 g in 1 cup) and has the most protein out of all the greek yogurt I’ve tried.

1/4 cup corn kernels

1/4 of a bell pepper

3 tbsp salsa

1 tsp chili powder

1 whole wheat tortilla- I am absolutely loving Maya’s Whole Wheat Tortillas. They aren’t absolutely monstrocious in size and also aren’t so small they should be served to a mouse. But they are still low in calories and carbs (70 cals and 15 g carbs) with 13 g of whole grain. The best part, they were on sale for 88 ¢ for a package of 12 at Winco the last time I checked. Shoot, that’s a steal of a deal right there!

Add whatever other veggies (or fruit!) you find that you want to throw in. That’s why it’s called a treasure hunt, because you never know what you are going to find. I’ve added peaches, mangos, and avocados before and these are super tasty additions.

Directions

Preheat oven to 300.

Mix eggs, greek yogurt, 2 tbsp salsa, and chili powder together and pour into a sprayed pan over medium heat.

Slice the bell pepper into little pieces and add to egg mixture along with spinach and corn.

While this is all working together to make an amazing scramble, place your tortilla into the oven for just a minute or two. Keep a close eye on it though! Once it starts to rise and form a pocket of air (looks like a balloon) take out the tortilla, stick a fork in the middle, and place under a cloth or napkin. Once your egg scramble is complete, scoop the mixture into the middle of the tortilla and top with the last tbsp of salsa for decoration (if you want to get all fancy).

Tada! A treasure hunt where everyone wins! The greek yogurt made the eggs a little more fluffy, kind of like when you add milk to your eggs but this way there was more protein and I liked how fluffy they were.

What did you add to your Treasure Hunt Scramble?

Random Fact of the Day

Did you know that if you don’t get enough protein in your diet your body will actually start to break down your muscle and tissue causing cells to potentially die. This is why it’s important to get an adequate amount of protein in your diet and to replenish your body’s nutrients with a protein rich snack after working out so your muscles can recover and your body will become stronger instead of weaker. Next post I’ll let you in on some of my favorite homemade protein bars that are perfect for after workouts and are simply scrumptious!

Leave a Reply

