Protein Bars Made With…Baby Food?

Weekend workshops are officially over! This semester I have taken several workshops to help me complete the remainder of the course credits that I need to graduate. Rather than taking an overwhelming number of courses during the semester, I thought it would be easier to take a few classes that I needed over the weekends. I would highly suggest this to anyone looking for a way to get as many credits in during a semester without going overboard. The downside is you feel like you are always on campus and you typically sit in a classroom from 9-5 Saturday and Sunday. Makes for a long week! I made up for my lack of weekends this past weekend though and was able to catch up with many friends. I also happened to run across this while being distracted by Pinterest and now have it on phone’s background as incentive to get through the semester.

Friday I woke up extra early to get in my workout so I wouldn’t feel rushed during the day to get my homework done before Peter and Kari’s wedding. Two days later and I’m still feeling the burn!  I added in skipping lunges to my leg workout today because I didn’t have a lot of time to get cardio in. Skipping lunges are basically lunges, but with skipping. I did one of my leg workouts and in the final circuit I added these in. I used the  indoor track in my school’s gym but you can also do these in a hallway, basketball court, or outside as well. We’ll use a basketball court in this case to make measurements easier. Do single lunges the length of the basketball court. On the way back you will skip. But this isn’t skipping like you would when you were six and “skipping to your Lou”. Instead the focus is on height by extending more vertical than horizontal for each skip. Use your arms with each thrust for an overall body workout. Repeat again. This is one set and you’ll want to shoot for three. My glutes are still feeling it from these!

That evening my family, Luke, and I went to Meridian to celebrate my best guy friend from high school’s wedding. It was absolutely beautiful and felt like something out of a fairytale. The church was decorated beautifully with candles, purple lights, and Kari’s dress filled the alter, it was stunning. Of course the night wouldn’t have been complete without a chocolate fountain and a double date with my parents at Flatbread, one of our favorite restaurants for pizza, flatbread, salads, and sandwiches.

After work on Saturday, Luke and I joined some friends for a couples dinner at…Flatbread again! Ironically, both of our date night couples wanted to go to Flatbread, and it’s too delicious to argue against going twice in one weekend. I also didn’t have to decide between my favorite salads (Chicken Apple Walnut and Chicken Arugula Basil Salad) and the Sea Salt and Parmesan Flatbread. After a busy week all I wanted to do was curl up on the couch and pass out while watching How I Met Your Mother, mine and Luke’s guilty pleasure and one of the funniest shows I have ever seen. Winston must’ve had an exhausting day of laying around and pretending to chase birds outside because it wasn’t long before she had curled up next to my face and was purring like crazy. Perfect way to celebrate a workshop free weekend!

You’ll have to excuse the fuzzy images, my camera phone isn’t quite up to par!

I finally was able to sleep in this morning which felt amazing! Well, by sleep in I mean until 7:30 am. My body has gotten used to the early mornings which makes it impossible to sleep in past 8:00 am. Emily and I went for another run this morning but this time we headed to Table Rock. Our run was quite different this weekend with the weather being 24 degrees, brr! I guess we’ll have to wait for warm morning runs until next spring.

When we finished, I came home and warmed up a cup of green tea and had one of my protein bars I made last week. I was craving something with chocolate and peanut butter and decided to tweak a recipe I got off of bodybuilding.com.

 

Chocolate Peanut Butter Chunk Protein Bars

1/2 cup protein

4 egg whites

1 cup oat flour

1/4 cup ground flax

1/4 cup Truvia

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

3 tbsp baking cocoa

8 oz apples and blueberries baby food (or any berry flavored, this helps to keep the protein bars moist instead of using oils and butter)

1/2 cup water

1/4 cup peanut butter chips

1/4 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a large bowl, combine egg whites, baby food, and water and mix together. In a medium bowl,  combine the rest of the ingredients and mix well. Take these ingredients and slowly mix them with your egg whites, baby food, and water.

3. Pour the combined ingredients into a sprayed pan (I like to use a canola oil based spray) and bake for 22-30 minutes depending on oven. Mine took about 28 minutes. Here’s a tip, poke a fork in the bars while they are in the oven and if the fork slides out easily with no batter on the fork, they are most likely done.

Allow protein bars to cool. I then took a couple tablespoons of freshly ground peanut butter and spread it over the top of the bars. Cut into 16 pieces and individually wrap them in ciram wrap for an easy way to pack these with you to workouts and for a high protein snack. You can also freeze these to keep for later.

Never thought I would use baby food to cook with, but I found this was a great alternative to butter and oils. You can also use apple sauce which has a similar effect.

Random Fact of the Day

Did you know there is actually such a thing as “The Baby Food Diet“? I’ve heard some strange diets out there including a cookie diet, cabbage diets, and even an air diet. How about just a healthy lifestyle diet??? I don’t think I could just eat baby food all day or even for a whole meal. Call me crazy, but I kind of enjoy eating real food that tastes good. I know, crazy right?! I found this while I was looking up different types of baby food flavors. It’s amazing what sort of diets and….unique ideas people come up with out there. I wouldn’t suggest eating nothing but baby food, your body may not be too happy with you that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

