Foggy, overcast gloomer of a day…you can’t ruin this wonderful Wednesday!

The colder the mornings get, the more difficult it is for me to get out of my warm, comfy bed. My friend Sara sent me a picture one day when I was needing motivation to get up and go for a run for my warm bed just didn’t want to let me go. The picture described exactly what I go through during the cold Boise winter mornings.

Source Uber Humor

This was exactly how I felt this morning, so much to do but not wanting to leave my bed. About 2 minutes after thinking I could just do all my homework from the comfort of my bed and do a “mental workout” instead of going to the gym, my attitude took a complete shift. No it wasn’t the sunlight peeping through the window (it’s been overcast and foggy all day), nor was it the fact that Whole Foods opens today (though that was added incentive). Instead my attitude took a complete 180 when my phone rang and on the other line was a woman from Rodale Publishing saying that they were offering me the internship position I had applied for with Women’s Health! I tried to keep hush hush about my interview and sending in my application because I didn’t want to get too excited before finding out any further details. But finally I can say I will be living in New York City starting January and working in the building of my dream job. Still feels too good to be true and I have had the biggest smile on my face all day long. I’m sure at the gym people thought I was a wacko as I would smile even when I was struggling through a sweaty cardio session this morning. Now I just have to figure out the details, but I had to share the exciting news!

I suppose my great mood has rubbed off on the rest of my schedule today. I incorporated many bright colors into my breakfast and even took a quick break from homework to paint my nails a bright coral color (happy red as I like to call it). And I can’t even begin to count how many times I’ve started humming “I’m walking on sunshine, woooahhh and don’t it feel good!”

I also found the time to make up a little energy trail mix this morning. The idea behind a trail mix is to have a healthy snack that gives you energy and can also be used in between meals to keep your metabolism up and help you refrain from feeling hungry. Often when you purchase them in the store they can be packed with sugar, fat, and high in calories because of the added sugars and lack of portion control sized packaging. To avoid indulging in what is supposed to be a  healthy snack and turning it into an unhealthy treat, I like to make my own and individually package appropriate portion sizes to grab on the go. These are perfect for busy days and can also help when you get a craving for something sweet or salty.

Happy Go Lucky Trail Mix

Each portion size for the ingredients listed below goes into one bag. You can make as many bags as you would like. Each bag itself is 2 serving sizes though as I like to carry the bag around with me all day and will eat half in the morning and half in the afternoon if it’s a busy day. Or divide the portions in half and it will be one serving for each bag.

2 tbsp almonds/cashew mix

3 tsp soy nuts

3 tsp pumpkin seeds

3 dried apricots (Dried fruit can be misleading for “healthy” as it is high in calories and in sugar so be careful of how much you add.)

1 tbsp dried cranberries

1 tsp dark chocolate chips (I have the biggest sweet tooth so for me I like to add just enough chocolate and peanut butter to satisfy my sugar cravings.)

1 tsp peanut butter chips

Total calories: 374 (serving size is 2 though, so divide by 2 for one serving)

12 g protein

7 g fiber

What else do you like to add into your trail mixes? Do you find that by placing individual serving sizes in bags help you to moderate portion control? If you’re like me, you’ll devour the whole bag if you buy a bag of trail mix at the grocery store so this helps me to package each portion size individually.

Whole Foods officially opened today so I’m headed there after class to embark upon a crowded adventure through the aisles and find some interesting ingredients for a delicious meal tonight! I’ll be sure to post what sort of creation we come up with 🙂

Random Fact of the Day

Did you know that in the last 30 years, the number of obese people in our nation has doubled? Our portion sizes are partially to blame for this. Even bagels, a food that many people consumer for breakfast as a healthy start to the day, have doubled in size. Not to mention a standard cup of coffee has gone from 45 calories for 8 ounces to 330 calories for a 16 ounce Mocha from Starbucks. YIKES! Look at the serving size on packages and you can ask for nutritional info at restaurants. Many phones have apps that allow you to look up any type of food and you can see the nutritional info and serving size. Educate yourself for a healthier lifestyle and a healthy waistline!

Leave a Reply

