“Burp”ee your way to fitness!

What is Pandora’s best station? I discovered this morning, while prepping my meals for the holiday festivities this week, that Rusted Root’s “Send Me On My Way” is by far the best go to station if you want to be in the happiest mood all day. And let’s be honest, who wouldn’t mind a mood lifter? I decided to look up the station after my sing along session with Sunni on our run the other day. I knew as soon as The Proclaimer’s “I’m Gonna Be” came on followed by Noah and the Whale’s “5 Years Time”. I think I just found my new favorite Pandora station to blog to.

Know what else I found this morning? A little horseshoe, in my tri! I haven’t seen that so prominent since I was training for Miss America and I have to admit, I was quite a happy camper this morning when I was doing burpees and saw a glimpse of that glorious little tricep peeking out. That’s right, this morning’s workout included everyone’s favorite, burpees. I’ve been using Jamie Eason’s Live Fit 12-Week Trainer as a general structure for some of my workouts lately and I’m absolutely loving it. Especially for someone who is just starting to workout, it’s a great tool for figuring out how to workout your whole body and also what sort of foods to eat and how often you should be eating if you are looking to adapt to a healthy lifestyle. It’s also a great source for people who already workout regularly and are looking for a challenge or change in pace. I look at what the workout is that day and then adapt my workout to base around the muscle group for the day. Throughout the week, your whole body gets a workout and you get one break day. I will use the recommended workouts and incorporate other workouts as well and a different cardio session each time. You get one rest day a week which I will usually use for some sort of yoga which helps me keep my flexibility and avoid injuring myself during my workouts. Or depending on how sore my body is, I will use that day to just relax and let my body rest.

Today’s workout was chest, abs and cardio which I used Jamie Eason’s- day 45 as a guideline for the weight lifting portion of the workout. And along with it, I added a fair share of burpees to get my heart rate going this morning and the sweat dripping. Don’t know what a burpee is? Oh, you are in for a real treat as well as some sore little tushies, quads, shoulders, calves, well, a little bit of everything actually. Women’s Health has a great tutorial on how to do a burpee.

I had a crazy ponytail going on after this workout and left the gym dripping sweat, success! I was craving banana pancakes after my workout and decided to try a new recipe.

Banananilla Protein Pancakes

1/2 banana (the more freckled, the better!)

1 egg white

1 tbsp vanilla greek yogurt

1/4 cup fat-free cottage cheese

1/2 tsp-1 tsp cinnamon (I love cinnamon, so I tend to add a little extra)

1/3 cup oat concoction (I have a tub of oats mixed with flax seed, wheat germ, and oat bran)

Directions

Blend all the ingredients together (I use my magic bullet to mix everything and it works very well) until the mixture will pour smoothly and is still a little lumpy.

Pour a couple of pancakes onto a sprayed pan and allow to cook for a few minutes on each side.

I enjoyed mine with egg whites from 2 hard boiled eggs and drizzled Agave Maple Nectar on top of the pancakes with a cup of green tea. Yum!

While I was enjoying my breakfast, and some very uplifting tunes, I started to prepare the ingredients for my dish that I will be bringing to the annual Girl’s Reunion Champagne Brunch. Each Thanksgiving Break, when all the girls are back in town, we have a champagne brunch to catch up on everyone’s life. Last year I missed it due to obligations that I had as Miss Idaho at the time, so I figured I needed to make a scrum-diddly-umptious dish to bring this time. After getting my daily dose of Pinterest, I decided to put together an overnight baked french toast. Recipe to come tomorrow 🙂 Here’s hoping meal numero 1 goes as planned and is a hit at the girl’s brunch, can hardly wait for some much needed girl time!

Random Fact of the Day

Today is National Hug A Runner Day, have you hugged a sweaty runner yet? Better yet, go grab a friend and enjoy a run together!

Leave a Reply

