Boot dilemna, I’m an elf trying to fit into Santa’s boots

Do you ever develop an overwhelming desire to find a certain accessory or clothing style after seeing someone else pull the look off so well? Lately I’ve been on a boot mission extravaganza. After seeing the cutest colored jeggings and boots look I decided I wanted a pair of burgundy colored skinny jeggings and tan boots. So the search began. My problem is the length between my ankle and knee cap is a little on the shorter than average side. Add that to my short height and you get what I call an elf trying to fit in santa’s boots. It’s a goofy look, though it could be fun for the holidays!

I ended up with a pair of black slouch boots from DSW that were marked down nearly half their original price, were the perfect height, AND were comfortable. Say what? A triple whammy, that almost never happens.

Source Designer Shoe Warehouse

I also tried a pair of ankle cowboy boots at Ross which is a style I would have never tried on but was shocked at how much I liked them, as well as the price. Gotta love a steal of deal! Next to them, I found a pair of tan leather heels for $1.99 and was tempted to buy them simply because they were $1.99. I realized that was no reason to purchase another pair of heels that would just sit in my closet. See mom, you have taught me about being practical!

After my boot contemplation, I decided to do a leg workout at the gym and a longer cardio session on the elliptical. The sweat was pouring! I worked up quite the appetite and was craving something warm to make up for the foggy morning we had today. Not to toot my own horn, but I made some pretty scrumptious peanut butter protein pancakes. Okay, “toot toot”…they were the most amazing protein pancakes yet! My belly is rumbling just thinking about them, which says a lot because Luke and I just got home from all you can eat sushi at Sushiya.

ingredients

 

Luke has been raving for MONTHS about how amazing the sushi is at Sushiya and how we have to go together. Typically he will go with the guys and they’ll do all you can eat sushi and watch whatever game is on tv that day. Being the sushi freak I am, I can’t believe it took me so long to go with him. It was l-o-v-e at first b-i-t-e, I have never tasted sushi like this! The fish was fresh and very flavorful. My favorites were the Hula Roll with spicy tuna, sweet candied nuts, and a special sauce as well as the Mama roll and the Caterpillar. I went to bed with one happy belly last night.

Back to those delectable pb protein pancakes though, I know you are just DYING for the recipe. I won’t make you wait any longer then so you can enjoy them for a nice brunch today. Or even have breakfast for dinner! That was one of my favorite dinners my dad would make for us when I was younger. I may have to have these for dinner again tonight!

pbpropan

Peanut Butter Protein Pancakes

Ingredients

2 tbsp peanut butter
4 tbsp whole wheat flour
2 egg whites
1 egg yolk
1 tsp baking soda
½ tbsp cinnamon (you all know how I love cinnamon!)
2 tbsp vanilla greek yogurt
1 tsp vanilla extract
¼ cup oats

Directions

Mix all of the ingredients together in a blender. Pour mixture onto a sprayed pan and allow to cook until ends start to become more firm then flip and allow to cook for a couple more minutes on the other side. Service with agave nectar maple syrup. Also tastes delicious with fresh fruit on top!

What sort of fashion trends are you loving this fall?

Do you have any weird “elf trying to fit in santa’s boots” scenarios or fashion faux pas?

Leave a Reply

