Whatever happened to the weekend?

Sitting down to write my blog this Sunday evening has left me scratching my head and wondering where did the weekend go?? I was a little more run down from the busy week I’d had last week and ended up having a very low key weekend to try and recoup for my last week of college. I get giddy just thinking about it Open-mouthed smile.  I pretty much spent the weekend working, finishing up final papers, and even got Luke to sit down and watch the actual White Christmas movie even though we’d just seen the play just last weekend. The movie is such a classic though and it reminded me of how much I used to love sitting down to watch it with my mom growing up. I remember she finally had to hide the movie one year because I wouldn’t stop watching it, even well into the summer time.

During out night in, I also almost skunked Luke in cribbage that night which never happens. Oh what a happy old couple we will be in our old age with our cribbage battles. Just give me my cup of tea, a deck of cards and cribbage board, and allow Luke to win at least one game and we’ll be happy campers.
whitechristmas1

I know I promised my Mini Chocolate Pies recipe as well as the Apple Cinnamon Flaxseed Protein Pancake recipe so I’ll be sure to get those in today.

To celebrate the last day of my Advanced Media Studies class my teacher had the entire class do a potluck and bring something in. Being a little anxious and needing something to relieve a little stress, I decided to take a break from writing and studying to make a new tasty treat last week.minichocolatepiespicuse

This is a super easy and quick little treat to make if you have to bring something to a party last minute or even want to include in your cookie exchange packages. I remember when I was growing up, my mom would spend a whole day making a variety of cookies to give to friends and neighbors. My sister and I absolutely loved helping out in whatever way we could whether it was decorating sugar cookies, pouring in the chocolate chips (that was the only ingredient mom would let us help with when we were little), or helping to lick the spoons clean. This would be the perfect addition to those plates of cookies!

Mini Chocolate Pies

cholatepiecollage

Recipe from PinCookie.com 

Ingredients
1 package refrigerated pie crust (If you have time to make your own pie crust that would be the cherry on top!)
Variety of chocolates (kisses work very well. I experimented and used chocolate caramels, mint chocolates, peanut butter chocolates, and regular chocolates)
1 egg white
Truvia to sprinkle on pies
Powder sugar to sprinkle on pies after they’ve cooked

Directions
It doesn’t get easier than this boys and girls
Start by preheating oven to 375.
1. Use a mug or something with roughly a 4-5 inch diameter to cut out parts of the pie dough to wrap around chocolates.
2. Place chocolates in the middle of the circles you just cut out.
step2

3. Fold the dough in half, then half again and pinch the middle. You can use the opposite end of a fork or spoon to help pinch the sides in more to create diamond shapes.

step 1

step3

4. Place mini pies on a baking sheet. Sprinkle a little water in the egg white and lightly brush mixture on top of the pies. Sprinkle with Truvia sugar and place in oven for roughly 12 minutes (or whatever your pie directions require). Make sure to keep an eye on them  though because they will burn easily and the chocolate caramels may explode like mine may or may not have.

step4
5. Remove from oven and allow to cool. Sprinkle powder sugar on them and enjoy!

My favorites were the mint chocolate closely followed by the caramel chocolate, even though they erupted in the oven. And my class absolutely LOVED them. I had a guy stop the presentation to ask who made them because they were delicious and he was not expecting there to be chocolate inside them. Extra credit points???

One of the things that I absolutely love about this protein pancake recipe is that I can make it one morning, put the rest of the mixture in the fridge, and enjoy it for a couple days after as well. Perfect for if you are on the go and want something filling and energizing. Plus the apples and cinnamon give it a warm, cozy feeling and make the kitchen smell amazing which I love around this time of year!

Apple Cinnamon & Flaxseed
Protein Pancakes

applecinnamonflaxrecipe


Ingredients
2 scoops protein powder
1/3 cup whole wheat flower
1/3 cup old fashioned oats (mixed with flaxseed and whole oat groats)
2 egg whites (keep the yolk from one egg)
2 tbsp vanilla greek yogurt
1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp brown sugar
1/2 tbsp coconut oil
1 tbsp peanut butter
1/2 tbsp agave maple nectar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 small Fuji apple
Directions

1. Mix eggs, greek yogurt, almond milk, agave maple nectar and vanilla extract in a blender or whisk together.
2. Melt peanut butter and coconut oil together in the microwave for about 30-45 seconds
3. Pour peanut butter and coconut oil into blender and mix with the other liquids you’ve already blended.
4. Mix in remaining ingredients except apple. I like to leave a little bit of the oats out as well so I can add them at the end and mix with the spoon so it gives it a little texture.
5. Dice the apple and mix in with a spoon along with oats if you decided to leave those out.
6. Spray a pan and pour about 1/4 cup of mixture for one pancake. Allow to cook for a few minutes and then flip and allow to cook for another couple of minutes.

This will typically make about 6-8 pancakes. I will eat two for breakfast and put plastic wrap around the leftover. If the mixture is too thick the next morning, add a little water or unsweetened almond milk.

Garnish with apple slices, cinnamon, and a little agave nectar if you would like!

Am I making up for being MIA last week yet? At least your belly is going to be a little happier with me. Tomorrow I’ll share the new phase I’m in for my workouts. They are involving more circuit training, sprints, and plyometric workouts. And they have left me sore everyday this week! I finally had to take today off and did a little hot yoga to relax my muscles (and myself).

Do you have any favorite holiday memories when you were growing up?

[tweetmeme only_single=”false”]
Leave a Reply

