Homemade Peanut Butter, yum!

One of my favorite foods is peanut butter. I mix it with chocolate, put it on bananas and apples, add it to my protein pancakes, and I love it on my toast with a little bit of cinnamon. So when I moved to New York and found how expensive it was, I decided to buy a bunch of peanuts and make my own peanut butter!

DSC_0465

How’s that for being resourceful? The result was delicious. I’m used to getting my peanut butter freshly ground anyways, but I’ve never tried it at home. Once you experience it fresh, you will not want to go back to regular packaged peanut butter!

   DSC_0455[4]              DSC_0456

Do It Yourself: Homemade Peanut Butter

I would suggest using a food processor to make this. I used my Magic Bullet which I love so much but you can ruin it if you aren’t careful by burning out the motor. On the Magic Bullet it says to not keep blending for longer than a minute at a time so it can take a little bit longer.

DSC_0463
1. If you’re using a food processor, in my research I found that you can pour about 16 oz of peanuts into the processor and start to blend it all together until smooth, scraping the sides occasionally. If you’re using the Magic Bullet, take the smallest cup and use the food processor blade. Put about a cup of peanuts in the cup and screw on the blade tightly.
2. Pulse the peanuts and watch as they start to break down into a chalk like paste and gradually blend into a creamier substance. If you prefer it more chunky, stop here. If you want it more creamy, then continue to pulse. Take a break after a minute so you don’t burn out your blender!
3. You can add a little bit of canola oil or peanut oil if you want. I added a little coconut oil to my first batch and it added a nice, subtle change of flavor. You can also get crazy and experiment with different types of peanuts (I tried honey roasted which was delicious on toast!) as well as by adding in different flavorings.
4. Store in an air tight container in your fridge for up to a month. If you added oils keep in mind they may separate over time. Just mix the peanut butter around and you’ll be good!

DSC_0465
Now that you’ve made your own peanut butter, I bet you won’t go back to regular! I’m off to try Equinox’s “Whipped!” class, I’ll let you know how it goes after I’m “whipped” into shape!

What did you try adding to your peanut butter? What else do you try to make yourself instead of buying at the grocery store?

[tweetmeme only_single=”false”]
Leave a Reply

