“Whipping” up some Blueberry and Almond French Toast

After probably one of the best night’s sleep I’ve had since I got to New York, I made it to the “Whipped!” class at Equinox gym again early this morning. Unlike Sunday’s class which only had a handful of people in attendance, this class was absolutely packed with about 40 people in one studio. I personally enjoy a class more full because I feel it provides great energy and a sense of camaraderie. Everyone is in one room sweating through the same workout and sticking it out together, pushing each other along the way.

There was a different fitness instructor this time who had us do a couple similar exercises as the first class I went to, but really mixed up everything else. There were still medicine ball throws, heavy rope exercises (oh how I have developed a love hate relationship for these), and mountain climber sliders with other additions including one-legged squats, frog jumps, bar weight jumping jacks (so much more difficult than they look), raised plank-ups, overhead weight press with burpees, and several others. Because there were more people there was rarely a chance to catch your breath between station and I didn’t see a single person in the room not dripping sweat down their face by the end. I fit right in! I followed it up with a 30 minute cardio session on the elliptical as I watched Live! with Kelly and Michael and enjoyed one of my new playlists I just put together including one of my favorite songs to do a cardio workout to.

Ellie Goulding ft. Calvin Harris- Need Your Love (Can’t get enough of this song! It’s my pick-me-up when I feel like slowing down or stopping. I can’t help but to keep going and even push my pace when I hear it!)

When I got home I was craving blueberries and French toast. One of the things I would love to do on Sundays was go to hot yoga and come back to some of Luke’s delicious French toast. I’ve been wanting French toast like crazy lately so I decided it was time to put together my own recipe.

Blueberry and Almond French Toast

blueberryalmondfrench

It was chilly this morning so after I put a slice of this in my mouth it warmed me right up but was also refreshing at the same time.

Ingredients
2 egg whites
2 tbsp light original soymilk (replaces evaporated milk or half and half for a healthy alternative)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp agave maple nectar (healthy alternative for sugar)
1 tbsp flaxseed
1 tbsp cinnamon
1 slice of whole wheat bread of choice. I chose Whole Food’s Organic Oatmeal Bread which has great absorbency and I like the texture with more oats and seeds

oatmealbread

Toppings
1/4 cup blueberries
1-2 tbsp sliced almonds
Agave maple nectar to taste as a healthy alternative to syrup

Directions
1. Mix ingredients in a bowl and dip bread in until ingredients have all been absorbed, or at least as much a possible. I ended up having to pour the remaining mixture on top of the bread while it was in the pan.
2. Place bread in a pan over stove top. Allow to cook for a couple minutes on each side or until each side begins to turn a golden brown.
3. Top French toast with blueberries (or any other fresh fruit your little heart desires!), sliced almonds, cinnamon (if you are a cinnamon lover like me), and as an option, use agave maple nectar to taste instead of using syrup.

DSC_0482

Each bite is full of warmth and happiness, I swear. I had one happy belly upon devouring this after my booty kicking workout this morning!

What sort of foods do you go to in the winter that warm you up, but won’t make you feel stuffed and sluggish?

[tweetmeme only_single=”false”]
Leave a Reply

