Mission: Run the Brooklyn Bridge from Manhattan to Hungry Ghost in Brooklyn.

5102413_5e774ed028_z“Your mission, if you choose to accept it, is to wake up at the crack of dawn and run from the UWS of Manhattan, down the Hudson River, through Battery Park, across the Brooklyn Bridge, and towards Prospect Park where you will then enter into the Hungry Ghost Coffee Shop, grab a scrumptious scone, and make your way to Prospect Park where you will complete your mission by taking the time to simply sit and do nothing but relax.”    NYCRunfun

One of the top things on my list of things to do in New York upon moving here was to run the Brooklyn Bridge. A friend of mine, who had previously lived in Brooklyn and is an avid runner, told me it was something that I had to do as a runner lover. At the time the idea seemed crazy, but I put it on my list of must do’s and recently realized I’ve put it off for far too long. Besides, I’m in the midst of training for the Urbanathlon so I may as well get two birds with one stone on this one. I layered up, packed my water and necessities in my “fanny pack”, and was up and at ’em bright and early to take on the day!

runhun

Here were the tips I found (and would suggest to anyone else looking to run over the Brooklyn Bridge.

1. Run either early in the morning (before the sun comes up)and ideally not on a weekend. Otherwise you will run into an abundance of tourists and it will be near impossible to run straight across without stopping or being able to enjoy the scenery.

Tip: Also, look up any events that may be going on ahead of time. I ended up running into 2 parades/races and also found out there was a walk for diabetes or something along those lines which made the bridge so packed I could hardly move at some points.WP_000050

2. If I did it again, I would run from Brooklyn to Manhattan. I’ve walked that route before and love being able to see the skyline of the city as you make your way across.

3. If you do run from the UWS of Manhattan, like I did, plan out your run with different places you’d like to see or your favorite locations in the city, My run ended up being a little longer than I had thought because I wanted to get a diverse scenery and cross off a few other things on my bucket list while I was at it. This included

  • Running the Highline
  • Exploring through parts of the city
  • Venturing through the Garment District, Financial District, and Greenwich Village
  • Going through Battery Park

Being my mother’s daughter, I researched the path other runners had taken, their advice, what day would be best (fortunately the ideal day for weather was also on my only day off), and how far it was so I knew how to pace myself.

BrooklynBridge

I always think you get to explore an area best when running because it really allows you to take it all in. It’s amazing how in New York City you can have such a diverse run going from city views to old historic buildings to modern architecture to feeling like you’ve left the city momentarily and are submerged in nature. One of my favorite parts of my run was when I ran down the Hudson River through Battery Park. I loved being able to look out across the water and suddenly Lady Liberty comes popping out from behind the trees with the Brooklyn Bridge appearing shortly after. It was a breathtaking day with the sun glimmering and an abundance of “happy runners” filling the path. I call them happy runners because even though most runners should be in a good mood (hello, your body is filled with endorphins!), sometimes on days where it’s absolutely packed people can get a little cranky still. That day was one where I don’t think even the most unpleasant person could find something to complain about.

Source: A Cup of Joe

4. My final tip is to give yourself a reward at the end. I wanted to treat myself with a scone since that is my guilty pleasure. But I wanted it to be a darn good one so I looked into the best bakeries and coffee shops in Brooklyn and found the Hungry Ghost. My friends, I was not disappointed when I took my first bite into my cranberry orange pecan scone, this scone lover was one happy camper!

WP_000079

The views, perfect weather, and feeling of satisfaction knowing I was working towards accomplishing a goal of mine since before I moved to New York was enough in and of itself to make my run an enjoyable one. I even ran across a Target while exploring Prospect Heights. I always loved browsing around Target, I found it therapeutic despite it’s many temptations for impulse buys. But the cherry on top is always a good playlist! Here is a glimpse at what you’ll find on my “Waggle Butt Run” playlist. (I named it after the way my golden retriever, Sunni, runs when we go out and he’s happy. Which is pretty much 24/7. But he waggles his little booty more than any dog I’ve ever seen!)

I love a good playlist that starts out with a song that puts you in the best mood, that way there is no turning back because you’re already out and feeling good! From there, you have to have some songs that just put a smile on your face, some good beats, move to ones that make you want to jump up and dance, then bring you back to inspire you, and end with a burst of energy! Hopefully you’ll enjoy adding some of these, if not all of them, to some of your next runs!

I can’t imagine running the bridge in this, but you go Sarah Jessica Parker!

Source: M5 Blog

Waggle Butt Run Playlist

(P.S. I challenge you to resist the urge to bust out in song and dance while listening to these…actually, just embrace it!)

I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)- The Proclaimers

I Don’t Feel Like Dancin’- Scissor Sister

Daylight- Matt and Kim

On Top of the World- Imagine Dragons

Shake It Out- Florence + The Machine

Push It- Salt-n-Pepa

Applause- Lady Gaga

Hall of Fame- The Script will.i.am

American Girl- Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers

No Rain- Blind Melon

Runnin’ Outta Moonlight- Randy Houser

Little Bit of Everything- Keith Urban

Your Smiling Face- James Taylor

Brown Eyed Girl- Van Morrison

Don’t Do Me Like That- Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers

Blurred Lines- Robin Thicke T.I. Pharrell

Intro- The xx

Life Is Better With You- Michael Franti & Spearhead

Best Song Ever- One Direction

Girl on Fire- Alicia Keys

This City- Patrick Stump Lupe Fiasco

Burn- Ellie Goulding

I Lived- OneRepublic

Copperline- James Taylor

20100327022318920_jpg_1024x768_q85

What songs do you enjoy running to? Do you have a favorite go to place for the best run?

6 thoughts on “Mission: Run the Brooklyn Bridge from Manhattan to Hungry Ghost in Brooklyn.

  1. I find it super interesting what music people use to run and how we all differ in our preferences 🙂 I personally find more intense electronica, dubstep, and rap the most motivating when I run. It does vary as I rotate through my playlists, and sometimes I have some heavier rock music thrown in there. Recently I’ve been listening to mainly dubstep when I run (Knife Party and Skrillex, mostly). Get’s me pumped 🙂

    • I completely agree! Especially on days where I have to run indoors or find it a struggle to motivate myself, I definitely find myself wanting more upbeat like Katy Perry, OneRepublic, Ellie Goulding, Lady Gaga, etc. What are your favorites right now? I always love new music!

  2. Love this post! I am so jealous… running in New York City sounds amazing (gotta love those days with happy runners)! Arizona? Not so much! Also, your playlist is top notch! I actually only listen to music if I’m confined to running on a treadmill (aka the past 4 months in Arizona) because I guess I like being outside and hearing nothing but nature! Or cars. 😉 All your posts are so fun to read!

    • Thanks Erin! I do absolutely love my runs here. It is nice to have so much variety. Though it can be possible to make it fun and different anywhere by simply adding a few different streets, adding a circuit when you come across benches, grass, etc. I’m hoping to post a playground workout this next week that I’m trying out Friday!

Leave a Reply

