40 days- No sweets. No negativity. No. complaints.

Happy Post-Fat Tuesday!

1299622099665_3561689

Source: ecards

Fat Tuesday for me began with Sour Patch Kids sitting on my desk from my friend Ali at work, which I used as my “breakfast of champs”. After throwing out ideas as to what we wanted to give up for Lent, we ended the day with a trip to Grand Central Station to get our fill of sweets before the deprivation process began. My sweet tooth had a craving for cheesecake, my ultimate weakness. Seeing as to how this would be the last bite of my guilty pleasure, it couldn’t just be any ol’ cheesecake. It had to be the most sinfully delectable cheesecake complete with a crisp graham cracker crust, filling that was fluffy but not too light, and leave me feeling satisfied yet longing for the moment I met that cheesecake again 40 days later. Zaro’s? Juniors? iHop pancakes with cheesecake bites?

1796453_10152287698969380_575534056_n

And that was how I decided to have my first Magnolia Bakery good. I’ve been wanting to go to Magnolia Bakery since moving to the city and I can honestly say, ladies and gents, I was not disappointed! The only thing I was disappointed in was the fact that I hadn’t had it sooner!

1920450_10152289176394380_905772000_n (2)

Lent is supposed to be challenging though, not that giving up sweets won’t be a challenge. But I decided in addition to this, I wanted to give up something that would be physically as well as mentally challenging and cleansing.  Studies have shown that negativity and constant complaining can lead to depression and anxiety.  Negative thoughts, behaviors, and engaging in frustration over acts beyond our control is a waste of energy and may as well be as unhealthy as that slice of cheesecake I had last night. Sure it may feel, or taste, good at first. But in the long run they have no nutritional value, no productivity, and no positive outcome. Negative thoughts or “crying over spilt milk” will happen occasionally. Just as it’s okay to treat yourself from time to time. But the less of it in your life, the better.  That’s why in addition to giving up sweets for Lent, I also decided to give up negativity and complaining about situations out of my control. Which means, no complaining about having no sugar!

So for the next 40 days, I will be depleting sweets from my palette. And I will be doing my very best to remove any negativity from my day to day life in addition to avoiding complaints about things that are out of my control. Goodbye sweets, hello daily positive affirmations!

Are you giving up anything for lent? If not, what’s something that would be a challenge for you to give up for 40 days?

Leave a Reply

